Academic Management

Prof Flip Schutte

Associate Professor and Director Undergraduate Studies
  +27 18 299 1949
  Flip.Schutte@nwu.ac.za
  +27 (0)18 299 1946
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office G 27
  Law of Evidence, Procedure Law, Law of Property
  B Juris (PU for CHE) 1979; LLB (PU for CHE) 1982; LLD (NWU) 2007
CV

Mr Tjaart Viljoen

Acting Director Undergraduate Studies Mafikeng
  +27 18 389 2181
  tjaart.viljoen@nwu.ac.za
  Mafikeng Campus, Building A2 Block H, Office G173
  Lecturing in Law of Procedure and Evidence; Practicing Attorney and Registered Debt Councillor .
  LLB; LLM.

Prof Henk Kloppers

Acting Director Postgraduate Studies Potchefstroom
  +27 18 299 1928
  Henk.Kloppers@nwu.ac.za
  +27 (0)18 293 5396
  Potchefstroom campus, Building F5, Office G20
  Estate Planning, Administration of deceased Estates, Insurance Law, Tax Law
  BCom (cum laude, PU for CHE) 1999; LLB (cum Laude, PU for CHE); LLM (PU for CHE) 2001; LLD (NWU) 2012; Postgraduate Programme in Financial Planning (UOFS)
CV

Prof Avitus Agbor

Acting Director Postgraduate Studies Mafikeng and Research professorship
  +27 18 389 2202
  Avitus.Agbor@nwu.ac.za
  Mafikeng Campus, Base Building, Office G64
  Public International Law; International Criminal Law; International Human Rights Law; Criminal Law; Public Law
  LLB (Hons); LLM; PhD
Google Scholar ORCid

Dr Ilyayambwa Mwanawina

Acting Subject Head
  +27 16 910 3478
  ilyayambwa.mwanawina@nwu.ac.za
  Vaal Triangle Campus, Building 11B, Office G18
  Regional integration, international law, good governance and human rights.
  LLD; LLM; LLB
Google Scholar LinkedIn

Prof Willemien du Plessis

Acting Research Director
  +27 18 299 1969
  Willemien.duPlessis@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 299 1923
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office G10
  Environmental Law; Legal History; Land Law; Legal Pluralism
   BJur (PU for CHE); LLB (PU for CHE); LLD (PU for CHE); MA in Environmental Management (cum laude) PU for CHE)
CV NWU Expert

Ms Rolien Roos

Senior Lecturer and Project Manager LLB Review
  +27 18 299 1958
  Rolien.Roos@nwu.ac.za
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Room G21
   Administrative Law; Jurisprudence
  MPhil; LLM; LLB; B Com
CV

Professors

Prof Anél du Plessis

Professor
  +27 18 299 1924
  Anel.duPlessis@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 293 5396
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office 104
   Environmental Law, Local Government Law, Constitutional Law, Environmental Rights, Environmental governance, Human rights law, Administrative law.
   BA (Law, PU for CHE) 2001; LLB (PU for CHE) 2003; LLM (NWU) 2004; LLD (NWU) 2009.
CV NWU Expert

Prof Christa Rautenbach

Professor
  +27 18 299 1939
  Christa.Rautenbach@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 293 5396
   Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office G 23
  Legal Pluralism; Cultural Diversity; Law of Succession; Customary law; Comparative Constitutionalism; Religious Legal Systems.
  BJuris (cum laude, PU for CHE) 1985; LLB (cum laude, PU for CHE)1987; LLM (PU for CHE) 1995; LLD (NWU) 2001.
CV Google Scholar LinkedIn ORCid NWU Expert Website

Prof Elmarie van der Schyff

Professor
  +27 18 2991937
   Elmarie.vanderSchyff@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 299 1946
   Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office 103
  Law of Delict, Law of Property, Law of Damages, Road Accident Compensation.
   BA Law (PU for CHE) 1987; LLB (PU for CHE) 1989; LLM (cum laude) (PU for CHE) 2003; LLD (NWU) 2007.
CV NWU Expert

Prof Leonie Stander

Professor
  +27 18 299 1931
   Leonie.Stander@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 293 5133
   Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Room G03
   Law of Insolvency, Administration of Insolvent Estates, Aviantion and Ocean Insurance
   BJuris (PU for CHE) LLB (PU for CHE) LLM (UNISA) 1985 LLD (PU for CHE) 1995
CV

Prof Marita Carnelley

Professor
  +27 18 299 1959
  Marita.Carnelley@nwu.ac.za
   Potchefstroom Campus, Building F5, Room 115
  Family Law & Gambling Law
  BA LLB (Stell) ; LLM (UNISA); PhD (Amsterdam)
CV

Prof Pieter du Toit

Professor
  +27 18 299 1934
  Pieter.duToit@nwu.ac.za
  +27 (0)18 299 1946
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Room 119B
  Criminal Procedure
  BIuris (cum laude, UOFS) 1994; LLB (UOFS) 1996; LLM International Law (UJ) 2006; LLD (NWU) 2011
CV ORCid

Prof Robbie Robinson

Professor
  +27 18 299 1940
  Robbie.Robinson@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 293 5133
   Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office G 08
   Family Law, Law of Persons, Children's Rights, International Children's Law, Fundamental Rights
   BJuris (PU for CHE) 1975 LLB (PU for CHE) 1977 LLD (PU for CHE) 1987
CV NWU Expert

Prof Willemien du Plessis

Acting Research Director
  +27 18 299 1969
  Willemien.duPlessis@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 299 1923
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office G10
  Environmental Law; Legal History; Land Law; Legal Pluralism
   BJur (PU for CHE); LLB (PU for CHE); LLD (PU for CHE); MA in Environmental Management (cum laude) PU for CHE)
CV NWU Expert

Research Professor

Prof Avitus Agbor

Acting Director Postgraduate Studies Mafikeng and Research professorship
  +27 18 389 2202
  Avitus.Agbor@nwu.ac.za
  Mafikeng Campus, Base Building, Office G64
  Public International Law; International Criminal Law; International Human Rights Law; Criminal Law; Public Law
  LLB (Hons); LLM; PhD
Google Scholar ORCid
Prof Louis Kotzé

Prof Louis Kotzé

Research Professor
  +27 18 299 1956
  Louis.Kotze@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 293 5396
  Potchefstroom Campus, 33 Presidentstreet
   Environmental Rights; Environmental Governance; Legal Comparison.
  BCom (Law, PU for CHE); LLB (PU for CHE); LLM (cum laude, PU for CHE); LLD (NWU).
Google Scholar NWU Expert Website

Associate Professors

Prof Elmien du Plessis

Associate Professor
  +27 18 285 2611
  Elmien.duplessis@nwu.ac.za
  +27 (0)18 293 5396
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Room 104
  Expropriation law, Constitutional Property Law, Customary Law, Traditional Knowledge, Commons.
  BA (International Studies); LLB; LLD (Stellenbosch).
Google Scholar LinkedIn ORCid NWU Expert

Prof Erika Serfontein

Associate Professor
  +27 16 910 3458
  erika.serfontein@nwu.ac.za
  Building 11B, Office G17
  Fundamental Law
  BA(Law); B.IURIS, LLB, HED, FDE, MED, PhD
LinkedIn

Prof Flip Schutte

Associate Professor and Director Undergraduate Studies
  +27 18 299 1949
  Flip.Schutte@nwu.ac.za
  +27 (0)18 299 1946
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office G 27
  Law of Evidence, Procedure Law, Law of Property
  B Juris (PU for CHE) 1979; LLB (PU for CHE) 1982; LLD (NWU) 2007
CV

Prof Freddy Khunou

Associate Professor
  +27 18 389 2070
  Freddy.Khunou@nwu.ac.za
  Base Building, Office G61

Prof Heléne Combrinck

Associate Professor
  +27 18 299 1948
  Helene.Combrinck@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 299 1923
  Potchefstroom Campus, Building F5, Room G08
  Disability Law
  B Iuris cum laude (PU vir CHO) 1988; LLB cum laude (PU vir CHO) 1990; Honns BA cum laude (PU vir CHO) 1990; LLM (UK/ UCT) 1993; LLD (UWK/ UWC) 2010
CV

Prof Henk Kloppers

Acting Director Postgraduate Studies Potchefstroom
  +27 18 299 1928
  Henk.Kloppers@nwu.ac.za
  +27 (0)18 293 5396
  Potchefstroom campus, Building F5, Office G20
  Estate Planning, Administration of deceased Estates, Insurance Law, Tax Law
  BCom (cum laude, PU for CHE) 1999; LLB (cum Laude, PU for CHE); LLM (PU for CHE) 2001; LLD (NWU) 2012; Postgraduate Programme in Financial Planning (UOFS)
CV

Prof Howard Chitimira

Associate Professor
  +27 18 389 2026
  howard.chitimira@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 389 2028
  Base Building. Office G65
  Corporate & Financial Markets Law; Commercial Law; Mercantile Law; Insolvency Law; some aspects of Competition Law; related aspects of Intellectual Property Law; related aspects of Banking and Financial Law; some aspects of International Trade Law & some.
  LLB (Cum Laude); LLM & LLD

Prof Klaus Beiter

Associate Professor
  +27 18 299 1957
  Klaus.Beiter@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 299 1923
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office G02
  Public international law, specifically, The relationship between public international law and national legal systems, The meaning of state sovereignty in this day and age, The extraterritorial application of international human rights obligat
  B.Iur. (with distinction) (UNISA, Pretoria); LL.B. (with distinction) (UNISA, Pretoria); Certificate in German Law (first class) (LMU Munich, Germany); Dr. iur. (summa cum laude) (LMU Munich, Germany); admitted as a Legal Practitioner of the High
CV

Prof Wian Erlank

Associate Professor
  +27 18 299 1932
  Wian.Erlank@nwu.ac.za
  +27 (0)18 299 1946
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Room 109
  Law of Property; Virtual Goods; Tegnology; Internet Law.
  LLB (Stell) 2002; LLM (Stell) 2004; HonsBA (Stell) 2006; Certificate in Legal Practice (UNISA) 2006
CV Google Scholar LinkedIn ORCid

Honorary Professors

Judge Deon van Zyl

Honorary Professor
  
  pc-law@nwu.ac.za
  Potchefstroom Campus

Prof Leon Wessels

Honorary Professor
  
  lwessels@iafrica.com
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5.
  International Law.
  LLM (RAU)1970; LLD (RAU) 2002

Senior Lecturers

Dr Anél Gildenhuys

Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1036
  Anel.Gildenhuys@nwu.ac.za
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Room G30.
  Historical Foundations of South African Law Contemporary foundations of South African Law Land Reform The right to access to adequate food Food security.
   LLB (PU for CHE) 2003; LLM (NWU) 2005.

Dr Anri Botes

Lecturer
  Anri.Botes@nwu.ac.za
  NWU
  Labour Law
  LLD. LLM

Mr Boyane Tshehla

Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2287
  boyane.tshehla@nwu.ac.za
  Base Building, Office G185
  Criminal Procedural Law, Traditional Health Law
  BProc, LLM

Dr Germarié Viljoen

Senior Lecturer
  +27 16 910 3150
  germarie.viljoen@nwu.ac.za
  Building 11B, Office G19
  Water law
  LLB, LLM (cum laude), LLD
LinkedIn

Mr Gideon Rossouw

Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2086
  gideon.rossouw@nwu.ac.za
  Building A2 Block H, Office G183
  Criminal Law; Regulatory Law, Criminology; International Trade Law; Intellectual Property Law
  BA(Law), BA (Hons), LLB, LLM (Criminal Law & Criminal Justice) (Cape Town)

Dr Hein Lubbe

Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1031
  Hein.Lubbe@nwu.ac.za
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office 101B.
  Law of Evidence, Public International Law.
  LLB (NWU) 2005; LLM (UP) 2006; LLD (UVT) 2010.

Dr Ilyayambwa Mwanawina

Acting Subject Head
  +27 16 910 3478
  ilyayambwa.mwanawina@nwu.ac.za
  Vaal Triangle Campus, Building 11B, Office G18
  Regional integration, international law, good governance and human rights.
  LLD; LLM; LLB
Google Scholar LinkedIn

Mr Jean Kanamugire

Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2802
  jean.kanamugire@nwu.ac.za
  Base Building, Block H, Office G175.
  Environmental Law, Business Law.
  LLB; LLM (Environmental Law); LLM (Business Law) –University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN).

Dr Kesolofetse Lefenya

Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2491
  kesolofetse.lefenya@nwu.ac.za
  018 389 2028
  Base Building, Office G63
  Environmental Law, International Humanitarian Law; Human Rights Law
  LLB; LLM; LLD

Dr Lovemore Chiduza

Senior Lecturer
  018 389 2492
  29422507@nwu.ac.za
  Base Building, Office G62
  Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, International Law and Human Rights
  BA English (SOLUSI) LLB, LLM (UFH) LLD (UWC), Certificate in Facilitation of Learning (UFH)

Dr Michelle Barnard

Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1033
  12128139@nwu.ac.za
  NWU Potchefstroom
  LLB; LLD
CV

Mr Mmakgotso Mongake

Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2337
  Mmakgotso.Mongake@nwu.ac.za
  Base Building Office G174.
  Criminology and related subjects.
  B/ Crim justice; B/Crim justice Hons; LLB and LLM.

Ms Naeema Gabru

Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 2991926
  Gabru.Naeema@nwu.ac.za
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5,Office G29
  BCOMM (LAW) - 1999; LLB (2001); LLM (2005); CFP (2009); ADVANCED CFP (2010)
LinkedIn Website

Dr Niel Lubbe

Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1032
  Niel.Lubbe@nwu.ac.za
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office 101A.
  Family law, Jurisprudence and Regional Environmental law.
  LLB (UJ) 2005; LLM (NWU) 2007.
Google Scholar

Dr Oliver Fuo

Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 285 2201
  Oliver.Fuo@nwu.ac.za
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office G105.
  Local Government Law; Human Rights; and Aspects of Environmental Law.
  LLB, LLM (NWU, Mafikeng) and LLD (NWU, Potchefstroom).
CV

Mr Ramokgadi Nkhumise

Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2067
  ramokgadi.nkhumise@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 389 2028
  Base Building, Block H, Office G181.
  Specialisation in Labour Law, Law of Delict, Law of Damages, Third Party Compensation Law and Insurance Law and Specific Contracts.
  B.IURIS; LLB; LLM-Specialisation in Labour Law (UNISA); Certificate Programme in Advanced Labour Law; Certificate Programme in Advanced Corporate Law and Securities; Law (UNISA-Centre for Business Law).

Ms Rolien Roos

Senior Lecturer and Project Manager LLB Review
  +27 18 299 1958
  Rolien.Roos@nwu.ac.za
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Room G21
   Administrative Law; Jurisprudence
  MPhil; LLM; LLB; B Com
CV

Lecturers

Ms Allison Geduld

Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1017
  Allison.Geduld@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 299 1946
  Potchefstroom Campus, Building F5, Office111.
  Local government law, Legal Philosophy, Socio-economic rights.
  LLB (NWU) 2010; BA Honours (Latin) NWU 2013; LLM 2014 (cum laude).
CV

Ms Anje Vorster

Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1035
  Anje.Vorster@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 293 5396
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office 105
  Entrepreneurial Law, Trust, Companies, Estate Planning
   H Dip Estate Planning 2006, BCom (PU for CHE) 1998, LLB (PU for CHE) 2001, LLM (NWU) 2012
CV

Mr Aubrey Sibanda

Leturer
  +27 16 910 3452
  aubrey.sibanda@nwu.ac.za
  Building 11B, Office G15
  Business Law; Corporate Law; Corporate Governance; International Economic and Investment Law; Banking and Financial Law; Human Rights Law.
  LLB; LLM.

Dr Braam Klaasen

Lecturer
  +27 18 297 5341
  Braam.Klaasen@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 297 1395
  1st floor RCSA Administrative Building, C/o Thabo Mbeki Ave and Meyer Street, Potchefstroom.
   Legal Practice, Indigenous Law and Criminal and Civil Litigation.
  BProc (UNISA) 1999; LLM Criminal Law (UNISA) 2006.
Google Scholar LinkedIn ORCid

Ms Chantelle Feldhaus

Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1925
  Chantelle.Feldhaus@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 293 5133
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office G102A.
   Criminal Law: Specific Crimes, Legal Practice and Clinical Law, Child Law.
  LLB (PU for CHE) 2000; LLM (PU for CHE) 2009.
CV

Ms Charlene Lanser - Labuschagne

Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2177
  charlene.lanser@nwu.ac.za
  Base Building, Block C,Office G54
  Corporate Law
  LLB & LLM

Mr Cornelius Visser

Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2528
  cornelius.visser@nwu.ac.za
  Base Building, Office G178
  Law of Delict, Law of Personality, Media Law and Law of Persons
  LLB (UJ); LLM (Wits); Registered PhD Student at the University of the Witwatersrand.
LinkedIn

Ms Estie Gresse

Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2197
  estie.gresse@nwu.ac.za
  General Academic Building, Office G180
  Family Law Labour Law Scholarship on Teaching and Learning.
  LLB Cum Laude; LLM
LinkedIn

Dr Francois van den Berg

Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1943
  Francois.vanderBerg@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 299 1946
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office G25.
  Constitutional Law, Criminal Law and Law of Criminal Procedure.
   LLB (NWU) 2007; LLM (NWU) 2008; LLD (NWU) 2013.
CV

Mr Gomolemo Kekana

Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2061
  gomolemo.kekana@nwu.ac.za
  Base Building, Office G171.
  The Law of Delict, Criminal Law, Moot court.
  LLB; LLM
LinkedIn

Dr Joseph Sedumedi

Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2392
  joseph.sedumedi@nwu.ac.za
  Base Building, Office G176
  Public Law.
  B.Iuris; LLB; M.Phil PhD.

Mr Keaobaka Moses

Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2650
  keaobaka.moses@nwu.ac.za
  Base Building, Office G184
  Constitutional Law
  LLM
LinkedIn

Mr Michael Laubscher

Lecturer
  +27 18 285 2353
  Michael.Laubscher@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 299 1923
  Potchefstroom Campus, Building F5, Office 108
CV

Ms Michelle Schoeman

Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1968
  Michelle.Schoeman@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 299 1946
  Potchefstroom Campus, Building F5, Office G28
   Construction Law, Law of Contracts, Civil Procedure, Introduction to Law and Legal Skills, ADR
   LLB (RAU) 2003, LLM Research Dissertation cum laude (NWU) 2013
CV

Mr Myrone Stoffels

Lecturer
  +27 18 285 2610
  Myrone.Stoffels@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 299 1946
  Potchefstroom Campus, Building F5, Office 101D
  Labour Law, Constitutional Law, Law of Evidence, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure Law
  LLB (NWU) 2010, LLM (NWU) 2013
CV

Ms René Koraan

Lecturer
  +27 18 299 4287
  Rene.Koraan@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 293 5133
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office G03
   Criminal Law.
  LLB (PU for CHE); LLM-Labour Law (PU for CHE).
CV

Mr Siraaj Khan

Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1951
  30448093@nwu.ac.za
  Potchefstroom Campus, Main Building F5, Office 101E.
  Civil Procedure .
  LLB; LLM (UKZN); Attorney of the High Court of South Africa.

Adv Steven Serumaga-Zake

Leturer
  +27 16 910 3540
  20561342@nwu.ac.za
  0866131958
  Building 11B, Office G20
  International Law and Human Rights.
  LLM (NWU); LLB (NWU); B-Tech Forensic Investigation (UNISA).

Mr Tjaart Viljoen

Acting Director Undergraduate Studies Mafikeng
  +27 18 389 2181
  tjaart.viljoen@nwu.ac.za
  Mafikeng Campus, Building A2 Block H, Office G173
  Lecturing in Law of Procedure and Evidence; Practicing Attorney and Registered Debt Councillor .
  LLB; LLM.

Junior Lecturers

Ms Bronwen Qumbu

Junior Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1942
  Bronwen.Qumbu@nwu.ac.za
  Potchefstroom Campus, Building F5, Office G28
  Environmental Law, Human Rights and Local Government
   LLB (UFS) 2013
LinkedIn

Ms Lilly Monye

Junior Lecturer
  +27 16 389 2120
  lilly.monye@nwu.ac.za
  Community Law Centre, Office G115
  Family Law, Law of Persons
  LLB

Ms Mathabo Baase

Junior Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1017
  Mathabo.Baase@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 299 1923
   Potchefstroom Campus, Building F5, Office 113
   LLB (NWU) 2014; BA Law and Psychology
CV LinkedIn

Mr Philip Bothma

Junior Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1950
  Philip.Bothma@nwu.ac.za
  +27 18 299 1923
  Potchefstroom Campus, Building F5, Office 108.
  Legal history, Law and language, Language teaching for specific purposes.
  LLB (NWU) 2013.
CV

Post-doctoral Fellows

Dr Ally Possi

Postdoctoral Fellow
  ally.possi@hotmail.com
  Dar es Salaam
  LLB; LLM; PGD (Legal Practice); LL.D (Ph.D); Advocate of the High Court of Tanzania.
CV

Dr Jean-Claude Ashukem

Postdoctoral Fellow
  +27 78 988 1649
  jcnashukem@gmail.com
  Potchefstroom Campus
  2013- 2016 LLD (Ph.D) in Human Rights Law, NWU; 2011-2012 LLM (Masters) in Environmental Law and Governance, NWU; 1999-2002 Licence en Droits/BA in Law, University of Yaoundé II, Soa
CV

Dr Paola Villavicencio Calzadilla

Postdoctoral Fellow
  272409196@nwu.ac.za
  Potchefstroom Campus
CV