Participants & Expertise

Project Leaders

  Prof Willemien du Plessis

  Professor
  +27 18 299 1969
  Willemien.duPlessis@nwu.ac.za
  Building F5, Office G10, Potchefstroom Campus ,
  BJur (PU for CHE); LLB (PU for CHE); LLD (PU for CHE); MA in Environmental Management (cum laude) PU for CHE)
  Environmental Law; Legal History; Land Law; Legal Pluralism

  Prof Germarié Viljoen

  Associate Professor
  +27 18 299 1931
  germarie.viljoen@nwu.ac.za
  Building F5, Office G20, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  LLB, LLM (cum laude), LLD
  Water law

Researchers

  Prof Louis Kotzé

  Research Professor
  Louis.Kotze@nwu.ac.za
  Global environmental constitutionalism; Law and the Anthropocene; Earth system law

  Dr Niel Lubbe

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1032
  Niel.Lubbe@nwu.ac.za
  Family law, Jurisprudence and Regional Environmental law.

  Mrs Lebo Smith

  Lecturer
  +27 16 910 3459
  Lebo.Motelle@nwu.ac.za
  Environmental Law; Labour Law and Administrative Law

  Prof Caiphas Brewsters Soyapi

  Associate Professor
   018 299 1941
  Brews.Soyapi@nwu.ac.za

  Ms Refilwe Tsatsimpe

  Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2528
  refilwe.magano@nwu.ac.za
   Private law: Family law and child law Public law: Constitutional and Environmental law

  Mr Obakeng van Dyk

  Lecturer
  Obakeng.vanDyk@nwu.ac.za
  Constitutional Law, Administrative Law and Environmental Law

  Prof Michelle Barnard

  Deputy Dean: Quality Assurance and Stakeholder Relations
  +27 18 299 1033
  12128139@nwu.ac.za

Extraordinary appointments with environmental interest

  Prof Arie Trouwborst

  Extraordinary appointment
  +31(0)134668704
  a.trouwborst@tilburguniversity.edu

  Prof Jonathan Verschuuren

  Extraordinary Professor
  j.m.verschuuren@uvt.nl
  Constitutional and administrative law.

  Dr Nathan John Cooper

  Extraordinary Professor
  nathan.cooper@waikato.ac.nz
  Internationalisation lead

  Prof Susan Bouillon

  Extraordinary Associate Professor
  susan@delacon.co.za
  Planning Legislation, Development Planning Legislation, Constitutional Legislation and Municipal Legislation; Compilation of Legal Opinions and Interpretation; Municipal Tribunals; Land Use Management; Town Planning Matters; Integrated Development.

  Dr Daniel Pallangyo

  Extraordinary Senior Lecturer
  dannypallangyo@gmail.com

Extraordinary appointments with environmental interest

  Dr Paola Villavicencio Calzadilla

  Extraordinary Research Fellow
  p_villavicencio@hotmail.com

  Dr Odile Lim Tung

  Extraordinary Research Fellow
  ojltmru@gmail.com

Full-time doctoral & post-doctoral researchers

  Dr Nico Buitendag

  Postdoctoral Fellow
  40589889@nwu.ac.za
  Systems Theory, Legal Theory, Staatslehre, Ecology, Radical Political Theory

  Dr Inge Snyman

  ingesnyman@gmail.com
  Environmental law, Biodiversity law, Wildlife crime, Community-based conservation management, Commons

  Dr John Rantlo

  Postdoctoral Fellow
  John.Rantlo@nwu.ac.za