Dear Student

Thank you for your interest in our master’s/doctoral programmes. The following programmes are presented at our Faculty:

You can read more about the content of the various programmes by following the link http://studies.nwu.ac.za/postgraduate-studies

PROGRAMME AND LEADERS

Each programme has a programme leader who is responsible in general for the academic aspects of the programme. The programme leaders are as follows:

International Trade Law
Dr Braam Klaasen (Braam.Klaasen@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)18 299 2125)

Labour Law
Dr Estie Gresse (Estie.Gresse@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)16 910 3632)

Environmental Law and Governance
Prof Michelle Barnard (Michelle.Barnard@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)18 299 1033)

Estate Law
Prof Henk Kloppers (Henk.Kloppers@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)18 299 1928)

International Child Law
Ms Chantelle Feldhaus (Chantelle.Feldhaus@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)18 299 1925)

Professional LLM in Criminal Law and Procedure
Prof Pieter du Toit (Pieter.duToit@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)18 299 1934)

Public Law and Legal Philosophy
Prof Avitus Agbor (Avitus.Agbor@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)18 389 2202)

Criminal Law and Procedure
Prof Avitus Agbor (Avitus.Agbor@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)18 389 2202)

Mercantile Law
Dr Neels Kilian (Neels.Kilian@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)18 389 2510)

Research LLM,  LLD and PhD
Prof Avitus Agbor Director: Postgraduate Programme

APPLICATION PROCEDURE

The application procedure and forms, available bursaries and application forms, financial information and Faculty of Law 2019 yearbook are all available online at http://www.nwu.ac.za/postgrad/graduate-studies-potchefstroom

The structured LLM programmes are presented in the form of compulsory seminars on a Friday and Saturday. We encourage students to complete this qualification within one year (usually full time). You can also complete it part time but must be very disciplined and motivated and follow a strict study programme. You may complete the qualification over a period of two years - just keep in mind that the full LLM fees (registration and tuition) are payable every year of registration.

Please note that a Research Methodology Seminar is compulsory for all accepted postgraduate students. This course was presented during February of each year. Information about this seminar will be communicated to you in due course, after your application has been approved.


The closing date for applications is 31 October of each year.

Please apply as soon as possible.

IMPORTANT CONTACT DETAILS

Director: Postgraduate Programme
Prof Avitus Agbor
(Avitus.Agbor@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)18 389 2202)

Deputy Director: Postgraduate Programme
Prof Henk Kloppers
(Henk.Kloppers@nwu.ac.za /+27(0)18 2991928)

Potchefstroom
Mrs Sonia Turkstra
(Sonia.Turkstra@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)18 299 1952)

Mrs Lezahn Jafta
(Lezahn.Jafta@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)18 299 1037)

Mahikeng:
Ms Irene Ramoabi
(Irene.Ramoabi@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)18 389 2385)

2020 IMPORTANT DATES

INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS

SAQA

An evaluation certificate issued by the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) must be submitted if a previous qualification was obtained in a foreign country. For further information, go to https://dfqeas.saqa.co.za/dfqeas/user/home

LIBRARIAN INFORMATION

Ms Christine Bronkhorst (Christine.Bronkhorst@nwu.ac.za / +27(0)18 299 2804)